Beckmann Kazez recognized with Regents' award

Posted 6 years 4 months ago

Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of Mathematics Sybilla Beckmann Kazez received a Teaching Excellence Award from the University System of Georgia Board of Regents:


The Franklin College of Arts and Sciences professor was chosen for the award that goes to one faculty member annually...

Schaefer named SURA distinguished scientist

Posted 6 years 5 months ago

Henry F. Schaefer III, Graham Purdue Professor of Chemistry in the department of chemistry, has received the 2012 SURA Distinguished Scientist Award, the Southeastern Universities Research Association announced today:


The annual honor goes to a research scientist whose extraordinary work fulfills...

Graduate Student Award Competition

Posted 6 years 6 months ago

Attention UGA graduate students: a competition sponsored by the Provost’s Office, the Graduate School, and the Office of the Vice President for Research, the university will select a particularly promising graduate student for an award to attend the 10-week experience at Singularity University (SU) this coming summer.

The competition submission deadline is March 21, 2012.  Interviews with the finalists will be held April 10, 2012, 1:00-4:00 pm.  Complete eligibility requirements, application information, and submission instructions can be found on the Graduate School website.


Dean's Council Scholarship

Posted 6 years 6 months ago

Sophomore biology and psychology double major Mehreen Sultana has been awarded the very first Dean's Council Scholarship:

The $1,000 scholarship is funded by an endowment created by the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences Dean's Council, an advisory group of alumni and donors committed to advancing the university's oldest, largest and most academically diverse college.


UGA chemist honored with Humbolt Award

Posted 6 years 8 months ago
Humboldt Logo.jpg

More prestigious honors accrue to Franklin faculty:

Henry F. Schaefer III, Graham Perdue professor of chemistry at the University of Georgia and director of the Center for Computational Chemistry in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, has been awarded a Humboldt Research Award from Germany's Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

The award, which is presented to up to 100 scientists worldwide annually, is granted in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date and is presented to academics whose fundamental discoveries, new theories or insights have...