Masciadri honored with da Vinci Award

Posted 3 years 1 month ago

UNESCO Artist for Peace and University Professor Milton Masciadri has received further worldwide recognition for his artistic efforts:

University of Georgia's Milton Masciadri was recently named recipient of the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts from the World Cultural Council-the first musician to receive the award in the last two decades.

The honor recognizes personalities whose work has had a significantly positive impact on the cultural legacy of mankind. The award, presented every two years, is an acknowledgment of those who offer positive messages through...

UGA swimmer named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Posted 3 years 2 months ago

Huge congratulations to recent graduate UGA swimmer and Italian major Maddie Locus, who was named the 2014-15 Southeastern Conference H. Boyd McWhorter Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year:

Locus is the eighth Georgia swimmer to earn SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors, and Georgia leads the list with 10 honorees since the award began in 1986.

After receiving the award May 28 during the SEC spring meeting in Destin, Florida, Locus doesn't have your typical summer plans. She will split her time between doing "math research" during her internship at Emory University and...

Joye receives SEC Faculty Award

Posted 3 years 4 months ago

Congratulations to Samantha Joye, Athletic Association Professor in Arts and Sciences and professor of marine sciences, who was named UGA's 2015 recipient of the Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award:

The award, which is administered by SEC provosts, comes with a $5,000 honorarium and recognizes professors with outstanding records in teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for other faculty and students.


Joye's research bridges the fields of chemistry, microbiology and geology to better understand marine and coastal ecosystems. She has been...

Anna Karls: Engaged Scholar

Posted 3 years 4 months ago

Associate professor of microbiology Anna Karls' efforts to establish unique outreach and engagement opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students have been recognized by the university;

Karls has been named the 2015 recipient of the Engaged Scholar Award, presented annually by the Office of the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach. Initiated in 2008, this award recognizes a full-time, tenured faculty member for significant contributions in public service, outreach and community engagement. 

"It is now recognized that community engagement is key to...

Howe MLA Prize

Posted 3 years 7 months ago

Congratulations to English professor and novelist LeAnne Howe, who will receive the Modern Language Association of America Prize for Studies in Native American Literatures, Cultures and Languages this weekend:

Howe will receive the honor for her book, "Choctalking on Other Realities," at a ceremony at the MLA annual convention Jan. 10 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

An international lecturer and scholar, Howe is an enrolled citizen of the Choctaw nation of Oklahoma. She is the Eidson Distinguished Professor of American Literature in the Franklin College of Arts and...