Goddard Memorial Trophy

Posted 4 years 5 months ago

The Franklin College has a special relationship with NASA's Kepler Mission in the person of alumnus and Kepler project manager, Roger Hunter. And so we are especially proud that Hunter and the Kepler Mission will receive the Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy from the National Space Club in a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on March 7:

The Kepler Team will receive the Club’s preeminent award, the Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy. Kepler has revolutionized exoplanet science and stellar astrophysics by expanding the galactic census of exoplanet candidates and fundamentally altering...

UGA Service-Learning Awards

Posted 4 years 5 months ago

Congratulations to Bettina Kaplan, associate professor of Spanish, and Peter Smagorinsky of the College of Education who were named recipients of the 2014 Service-Learning Excellence Awards:

The awards, established in 2011 by the Office of Service-Learning, recognize distinction in teaching and research related to academic service-learning.


Since 2002, Kaplan has taught the course "Spanish Practicum for Service-Learning," which she designed to engage students in applying their Spanish knowledge to opportunities including parent-teacher conferences, tutoring and...

Beckmann honored with Women in Mathematics Award

Posted 4 years 11 months ago
kazez_sybilla with chalkboard

For all the attention that mathematics education receives nationally in the U.S., it can be difficult to determine where the front lines are in the battle to help more young people succeed. Beyond the classrooms themselves another is in higher education, where teaching strategies are refined and improved in the search to find more effective pedagogical methods. The department of mathematics is home to one of the leading thinkers on the subject, whose efforts have recently been recognized by the Association of Women in Mathematics Award:

Sybilla Beckmann, a 2011 Josiah Meigs...

Music student wins top international competition

Posted 4 years 11 months ago

Big congratulations to the Hugh Hodgson School of Music and DMA student Lauren Hunt:

University of Georgia doctor of musical arts student Lauren Hunt took first prize Sept. 1 in the International Horn Competition of America's university division. Hunt, who began her studies this fall in the Hugh Hodgson School of Music, competed against 53 other hornists for the title.

The International Horn Competition of America was founded in 1975 to promote higher performance standards for domestic hornists. In time, its mission expanded to include international artists who compete every...

Franklin Alum honored with Benjamin Franklin book award

Posted 5 years 6 days ago

We point out this terrific award for an alum's book for obvious reasons, I think.


Franklin Alum honored with Benjamin Franklin book award

Book tells real history through fictional characters



For author and Franklin alumnus Jonathan Grant, Benjamin Franklin has been a recurring theme. He began his career as an English major (AB, ’76) in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and now he is also been a recent recipient of the Independent Book Publishers Association’s 2013 Gold Benjamin Franklin Award for...