School of Art alum wins prestigious award

Posted 4 years 8 months ago
ialu_Powers sculpture in wood, gallery

UGA alumnus John Powers, (MFA in sculpture, 2008) was awarded the Virginia A Groot Foundation Award, which includes $35,000 in support for a sculpture artist.

The Virginia A. Groot Foundation was established in 1988 so that artists working in three dimensions could have the opportunity to devote additional time and resources to the development of their work. 


Powers lives and works in Birmingham, Alabama where he is Assistant Professor of Sculpture at The University of Alabama at Birmingham. John is the recipient of a prestigious Joan Mitchell Foundation MFA Grant...

Franklin presented USCOTS Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted 4 years 9 months ago
franklin-christine, with Baseball diamond

Senior Lecturer, undergraduate coordinator and Lothar Tresp Honoratus Honors Professor in the department of statistics Christine Franklin (no relation but a big part of our family) was awarded the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award by the United States Conference on Teaching Statistics at the USCOTS Award Banquet on Friday, May 17:

This biennial award is presented at the U.S. Conference On Teaching Statistics to an individual who, over an extended period of time, has made lasting contributions with broad impact to the field of statistics education especially, but not limited to, the...

March Kudos

Posted 4 years 11 months ago
three headshots

Congratulations and thanks for all you do.

Associate professor in the department of plant biology Peggy Brickman was one of two UGA professors to be named 2013 Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professors.

Senior associate dean Hugh Ruppersburg was named University Professor. The honor, first awarded in 1974, is bestowed selectively on UGA faculty who have had a significant impact on the university in addition to fulfilling their normal academic responsibilities. 

John Knox, associate professor of geography and faculty member in the atmospheric sciences program, was...

Medine receives Teaching honor from AAR

Posted 4 years 11 months ago

The American Academy of Religion awarded one of its highest honors to Carolyn Medine:

Medine, a University of Georgia professor in the department of religion and the Institute for African American Studies, has been selected to receive the 2013 Excellence in Teaching Award from the American Academy of Religion.

The professional society for scholarship and teaching in the field of religion, the AAR has more 10,000 members who teach in about 1,000 colleges, universities, seminaries and schools in North America and abroad. The award, announced on the AAR website, will be formally...

NSF Career Award for Liu

Posted 5 years 3 months ago
human brain, with colored plot points.

National Science Foundation Career Awards are a bit of misnomer, in that they are titled as though the awards are given at a career pinnacle recognize achievement. In fact, they are early career awards to support, and widen, a promising scope of inquiry by a young researcher. Tianming Liu, assistant professor of computer science in the Franklin College, was presented with just such an award after he demonstrated a new way to map the human brain:

[Liu] will map the nerve fiber connection patterns between different brain regions-called nodes or landmarks-and use the maps to identify...