Colley Awarded Christopher Columbus Fellowship

Posted 5 years 7 months ago

Congratulations to Dan Colley, who was awarded the 2012 Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Distinguished Life Sciences Scientist Award for his research in tropical medicine and parasitology.

Colley has focused for more than 40 years on the immunology of schistosomiasis, a debilitating chronic worm...

School of Music student places second in international competition

Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Simon with Maestro.jpg
Simon Wildman, a second year Doctoral student at the Hugh Hodgson School of Music, was recently awarded Second Prize at the International Instrumental Competition in Markneukirchen, Germany. The competition is held for tuba once every four years, rotating among other orchestral instruments, and is considered to be one of the most prestigious international solo competitions for many orchestral instruments. The field of competitors began with approximately 50 tubists from around the world and was narrowed through four rounds of competition, culminating in a final round performance of...

LDSOA student, Windgate Fellowship winner

Posted 5 years 10 months ago

Congratulations to UGA Art student Rachel Columb:


The University of North Carolina-Asheville's Center for Craft, Creativity and Design has awarded 10 graduating seniors each with $15,000 in the form of a Windgate Fellowship, including Rachel Columb from the University of Georgia Lamar Dodd School of...

Beckmann Kazez recognized with Regents' award

Posted 5 years 10 months ago

Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of Mathematics Sybilla Beckmann Kazez received a Teaching Excellence Award from the University System of Georgia Board of Regents:


The Franklin College of Arts and Sciences professor was chosen for the award that goes to one faculty member annually...

Schaefer named SURA distinguished scientist

Posted 5 years 11 months ago

Henry F. Schaefer III, Graham Purdue Professor of Chemistry in the department of chemistry, has received the 2012 SURA Distinguished Scientist Award, the Southeastern Universities Research Association announced today:


The annual honor goes to a research scientist whose extraordinary work fulfills...