Faculty Support

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


Home to 620 full time faculty, including 293 professors, 214 associate professors, and 113 assistant professors, the Franklin College is comprised of 30 schools and departments among five divisions:

These divisions host internationally recognized faculty members whose teaching and research touches thousands of undergraduate and graduate students each year. The impact of Franklin faculty is as diverse as its many fields of study. 

The Franklin Chronicles is the best way to stay in touch with the latest accomplishments of our faculty. 


Franklin faculty members secured more than $51 million in external funding for research in fiscal year 2013.

  • 54 of UGA’s 77 American Association for the Advancement of Science  (AAAS) Fellows
  • 8 of 10 UGA faculty named to the National Academy of Sciences
  • 28 Fulbright Scholars
  • 31 NSF CAREER awards since the programs establishment in 1994
  • 2 of UGA’s 3 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)


  • Nearly 50% of the institution’s total credit hours (fiscal year 2014)
  • More than 4 times the total credit hours of the next largest college (undergraduate and graduate in fiscal year 2014)
  • Degrees awarded in fiscal year 2014: 2441 bachelor’s degrees, 232 master’s degrees, 191 doctoral degrees, and 85 undergraduate majors
  • 3 of the top 5 and 6 of the top 10 most popular undergraduate majors at UGA are housed within the Franklin College: Biology, Psychology, Art, Communication Studies, Biological Sciences, English