# Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, 22 January 2019

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 250 of the Miller Learning Center, Chad Howe presiding.

**Members Present:** Yohannes Abate, Mary Bedell, Thomas Biggs, Brian Binder, Peter Brosius, Josh Bynum, Tom Cerbu, Katie Chapman, Brian Condie, Elizabeth Davis, Suzanne Ellenberger, Jorge Escalante, Alison Farley, Lisa Fusillo, DeLoris Hesse, Chad Howe, Betina Kaplan, Kristin Kundert, Gary Lautenschlager, Vera Lee-Schoenfeld, Tianming Liu, Megan Lutz, Alisa Luxenberg, Kendall Marchman, Silvia Moreno, Emily Mouilso, Chris Peterson, Chris Pizzino, Khaled Rasheed, Jennifer Rice, Cassia Roth, Leslie Gordon Simons, Jiyeon So, Michael Usher, Qun Zhao

**Proxies:** Kevin Jones for Steve Soper

**Members not present:** Doug Crowe, Richard Hubbard, Ming-Jun Lai, Joe Norman, Rohan Sikri, Hang Yin

Guests: Dr. David Saltz (Theater and Film Studies); Lee Shearer (Athens Banner-Herald)

Approval of the minutes of the 13 November 2018 meeting: Approved without corrections.

## President Chad Howe's Remarks

- Welcome back and Happy New Year!
- In the 22 November meeting there was discussion regarding the University Council vote that would affect Franklin College (and others') committee membership. The vote was not approved there, failing with 55 for and 71 against, so it is a moot issue for now. If it comes up again in future University Council meetings, we will revisit it.
- Dr. Jennifer Rice (chair of the Executive Committee) and Senate President Chad Howe are in the process of identifying Faculty Senate leadership for next year, including committee chairs, and will contact potential candidates.
- Our next meeting will be held on Tuesday, 19 February 2019.

#### **Dean Dorsey's Remarks**

- Dean Dorsey extended a thank you and a Happy New Year, welcoming the Senate back to Spring term.
- The week of 28 January is Founders week.
  - On Monday, 28 January at 1:30p, Freda Scott Giles, Faculty Emerita of the Institute for African American Studies and the Department of Theatre and Film Studies, will present the University of Georgia Founders Day Lecture at the UGA Chapel.
  - On Wednesday, 30 January at 3:30p, President Morehead will give his State of the University address, also at the UGA Chapel.

- The State Assembly was back in session as of 14 January, and will consider the new governor's budget. Dean Dorsey has no information regarding that budget at this time, but will update us when he knows more.
- On 27 November, the ground breaking for the interdisciplinary STEM building was held, and Phase I construction has begun. The site is behind the old Statistics building, at the corner of East Campus Dr. and Cedar Street. UGA will seek planning funds for Phase 2, which if received, would begin in approximately 1 year.
  - Chemistry and Engineering are also planned to be relocated during Phase 2 building; the space in the current Chemistry building would be renovated and made available for other units on campus. The Dean's Office also has their eye on Biological Sciences building, which needs some TLC.

## **Committee Reports**:

- Academic Standards Committee: Received 13 petitions: 4 approved, 9 denied.
- Curriculum Committee: Approved 58 new courses, approved 124 course changes, and 4 bulletin changes; 1 area of emphasis (Theatre and Film Studies); 4 Double Dawgs proposals.
- Executive Committee: No new business reported.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: Two reports
  - The committee is working on a report regarding the revocation of graduate faculty status. They are currently waiting on the Graduate School, which is revising the guidelines for Graduate Faculty, as discussed in the 16 October 2018 meeting.
  - The committee is also exploring the roll of non-tenure-track faculty, particularly relating to CURO and First Year Odyssey. They are in the process of gathering more data, and have met with the honors program. Currently, they are planning their next steps.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: No new business reported.

#### **New Business:**

- Proposal for new Areas of Emphasis in Theatre and Film Studies David Saltz, Department Head
  - Rather than develop separate majors, and in order to maintain the Liberal Arts program, five areas of emphasis were identified, in consultation with the accrediting body, as areas of specialization for students who are interested: Acting; Design; Directing/Stage Management; Dramatic Media; Dramatic Writing; and Theatre History/Theory.
  - An area of emphasis, if pursued, will appear on a student's degree; no area of emphasis is required and all students with or without an area of emphasis will obtain a degree in Liberal Arts. This is different than a specialized BFA or MFA, and the department made deliberate decision not to pursue that undergraduate degree. These are not pre-professional degrees (that is, graduates will not be fully qualified actors or directors).

- Students make take on more than one area of emphasis, and the earlier they select an area the better and more likely they are to find the courses (18-19 hours) needed to complete the program; students can enter as late as their junior year and still complete an area, however, depending on course availability.
- The areas of emphasis were approved unanimously.
- Update from the Ad Hoc Committee on Baldwin Hall Chris Pizzino, Committee Chair
  - The committee is in the process of writing their report, and wishes to thank the Faculty Senate for the vote of the 22 November meeting expanding the range of people with whom the committee could follow up. Depending on the timing of the reports completion, the report will be released to the Senators in advance of the next meeting for review.
  - Dr. Pizzino also expressed thanks to the committee for their hard work.
  - The committee has only worked with relatively local people, and has not exercised the full range of research within the scope of the issue or charge. They are doing some scoping regarding what the Consortia are doing.

### **Old Business:**

• None to discuss.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Megan Lutz Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Statistics