Franklin College Faculty Senate

Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, January 21, 2020

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 350 of the Miller Learning Center, Jennifer Rice presiding.

Members Present: Yohannes Abate, Michael Bachmann, Brian Binder, Josh Bynum, Tom Cerbu, Katie Chapman, Brian Condie, Gauri Datta, Suzanne Ellenberger, Allison Farley Raffle, Lisa Fusillo, Timothy Gupton, DeLoris Hesse, Steve Holland, Richard Hubbard, Betina Kaplan, Caner Kazanci, Sidney Kushner, Gary Lautenschlager, Vera Lee-Schoenfeld, Megan Lutz, Alisa Luxenberg, Kendall Marchman, Soroya McFarlane, Silvia Moreno, Emily Mouilso, Chris Peterson, Jordan Pickett, Chris Pizzino, Khaled Rasheed, Nancee Reeves, Jennifer Rice, Cassia Roth, Rohan Sikri, Leslie Gordon Simons, Anne Summers, Michael Usher, Hang Yin

Proxies: Alexander Sager for Katie Chapman, Steven Grossvogel for Betina Kaplan, Mark Farmer for Sylvia Moreno

Members not present: Peter Brosius, Chris Garvin, Cindy Hahamovitch, Kristin Kundert, Tianming Liu.

Guests: Krista Vanderpool from the College of Education; Margaret Morrison, Lynn Sanders-Bustle, and Christina Hanawalt from the School of Art.

Approval of the minutes of the November 19, 2019 meeting: Unanimously approved with no corrections.

President Jennifer Rice's Remarks

- Announced that she and DeLoris Hesse will be working on new Committee Chairs and asked for volunteers to serve as Committee Chairs and members for 2020-2021
- Announced that the President-elect for the Faculty Senate is stepping down and DeLoris Hesse has offered to take over. There will be a vote on this at the next meeting.
- There will be a vote at the next meeting to dissolve the Baldwin Hall ad hoc committee. They have fulfilled their charge and the committee is no longer needed.

Dean Dorsey's Remarks

- President Morehead will give the State of the University address on January 29 at 3:30 p.m. in the UGA chapel.
- There will be a naming ceremony at the Georgia Center for the College of Education in honor of Mary Frances Early followed by the annual namesake lecture at 2:00 on February 25.
- Provost Dr. Jack Hu named a 15-member search committee for the graduate studies vice provost for graduate education. The committee will be chaired by Dr. Linda Kirk Fox, dean of the College of Family and Consumer Sciences. There are several Arts and Sciences members on the committee including Dr. Michelle Ballif, head of the English Department; Dr. Noel Fallows, professor of Spanish and associate provost for global engagement; Dr. Peter Jutras, director of the Hugh Hodgson School of Music; Dr. Thomas Mote, professor of Geography and associate dean in the Franklin College. This is a change in the status of the deanship in the graduate school. Dr. Hu stated "Elevating the leadership of the

Graduate School to the vice provost level at the University of Georgia signals the important role of graduate and professional education plays in promoting research and innovation across all the disciplines". Nominations can be sent to Dr. Michael Luthi at luthi@uga.edu

- The Georgia General Assembly began their legislative session January 13 and on January 16 Governor Kemp delivered his State of the State address. He presented his fiscal budget to the assembly and items of importance for UGA were:
 - \$42.8 million dollars for construction funding for the STEM II building
 - \$5.6 million dollars in equipment funding for the STEM I building
 - o An increase in resident instruction funding for colleges and universities
 - \$1000 salary increase for full-time college employees earning less than \$40,000 per year
 - No mention of other raises for faculty and staff in the university system but additional items may be added to the final version of the budget
- A question regarding new information on lab fees was addressed. Dean Dorsey stated that the Office of Instruction will provide funding at an amount that is equivalent to previous funding. The academic units most affected by lab fees are the Arts and Chemistry Departments and there will be additional news in the coming week.

Committee Reports:

- Curriculum Committee: 70 new courses were reviewed, 110 course changes, 4 Bulletin changes, and 3 art department proposals.
- Academic Standards: 4 petitions were reviewed and approved
- Faculty Affairs: No report
- Planning and Evaluation: No report

New Business:

Three proposals from the School of Art:

- Deactivation of the BA in Studio Art with a concentration in Painting. Historically there has been two separate emphasis programs, drawing and painting. Keeping these two emphasis programs delineated no longer makes sense. The proposal is to deactivate these two separate emphasis programs and to combine them into a broad studio emphasis which includes both drawing and painting. The motion was unanimously approved.
- Name change proposal for the BA in Studio Art with a concentration in Drawing and Painting was approved.
- Proposal for Educational Specialist degree was deleted 5 years ago due to low enrollment but with a transition in faculty the College of Education is allowing the creation of this area of emphasis attached to their existing Specialist degrees. The motion was approved.

Old Business: None was reported.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Suzanne Ellenberger Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for the Chemistry Department.