Franklin College Faculty Senate

Minutes of the Special Session meeting on Tuesday, July 27, 2020

The meeting was called to order at 1:05 p.m. via Zoom videoconference call, Jennifer Rice presiding.

Members Present: Bachmann, Michael; Binder, Brian; Brosius, Peter; Cerbu, Tom; Chapman, Katie; Condie, Brian; Datta, Gauri; Farley Raffle, Alison; Fusillo, Lisa; Gupton, Timothy; Hahamovitch, Cindy; Hesse, DeLoris; Holland, Steve; Hubbard, Richard; Kaplan, Betina; Kazanci, Caner; Lautenschlager, Gary; Lee-Schoenfeld, Vera; Luxenberg, Alisa; Marchman, Kendall; McFarlane, Soroya;; Peterson, Chris; Pizzino, Chris; Rasheed, Khaled; Reeves, Nancee; Rice, Jennifer; Roth, Cassia; Sikri, Rohan; Summers, Anne; Usher, Michael; Yin, Hang

Proxies: Marla Carlson for Kristin Kundert; Mark Farmer for Silvia Moreno; Cynthia Suveg for Emily Mouilso

Members not present: Yohannes Abate, Josh Bynum, Suzanne Ellenberger, Chris Garvin, Sidney Kushner, Liu Tianming, Jordan Pickett, Leslie Gordon Simons

Guests: Numerous visitors attended the meeting.

President Jennifer Rice's Remarks

- It was requested for all participants to change their Zoom screen name to add Senator,
 Proxy or Visitor after their names.
- The resolution is a voting item today. Senators will use the raise hand function to vote.
- It was noted that members of the press were present and all were advised that comments were public.

Item 1: Discussion and vote to add the Senate of the Mary Francis Early College of Education as a co-sponsor and signatory of the Franklin Senate Resolution

Hesse provided background information on how the Franklin Senate and Early Senate have coordinated to co-sponsor the Resolution.

Vote for co-sponsorship: 34 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions

Item 2: Vote on the Revised Proposed Senate Resolution from the previous Special Session

Jo Fu and Janet Frick provided a brief background information about how the Resolution to be voted on at this meeting was revised based on the discussion and feedback from the July 15, 2020 special session. A request for a response by August 4, 2020 from both the Chancellor and UGA President was also made and a friendly amendment added to include this in the Resolution.

The majority of discussion among Senators was related to point 3 three of the Resolution regarding testing. Senators discuss the best wording to express that the current testing regimen is not adequate to safely reopen. Slight revisions to the text were made and added as a friendly amendment to address the discussion.

Vote to accept the Resolution: 35 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions

Item 3: Discussion and vote to send the Resolution to Chancellor Wrigley, with copies to President Morehead, Dean Dorsey, and Dean Spangler

Hesse facilitated discussion among senators regarding to whom the Resolution should be addressed and how it should be sent. After discussion, it was proposed that the Resolution be sent via email and addressed to Chancellor Wrigley and President Morehead. Senators also requested that the following people be copied on the email: Provost Hu, Dean Dorsey, Dean Spangler, Vice President for Instruction Shrivastav, and Vice President for Student Affairs Wilson.

Vote: 33 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions

Closing Comments

Jennifer Rice thanked everyone for their time. She and the President of the Early College of Education Senate will draft a cover letter and send the Resolution to the designated people listed in Item 3 by July 28th. The Senate will have a follow-up meeting to discuss any responses received by the August 4 requested deadline.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jennifer Rice Franklin College Senate President