Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the Meeting on Tuesday, September 19, 2023

The meeting was called to order at 3:43 PM via Zoom, Benjamin Britton presiding.

Members Present: Christine Albright, Mark Anderson, Adam Barb, Holly Bik, Kelly Black, Benjamin Britton, Joel Caughran, Pilar Chamorro Fernandez, Carmen Comeaux, Le Guan, Dan Hall, Steve Holland, Allison Howard, Christin Huggins, Imi Hwangbo, Joe Kellner, Nicolás Lucero, Sandy Martin, Emily Mouilso, Richard Neupert, Chris Peterson, Laurie Reitsema, Amy Ross, Bernd Schuttler, Alexandra Shapiro, Matthew Shipes, Jennifer Stull, Anne Summers, Andrea Sweigart, Justine Tinkler, Frans Weiser, Michael White, Sarah Wright, Hang Yin

Proxies: Kevin Jones for Peter Hoffer, Daichi Kamiyama for Vasant Muralidharan,

Members not present: Toyin Alli, Maduranga Dassanayake, Fae Dou, DeLoris Hesse, Richard Hubbard, Ro Martini Paula

Guests: Matthew Boedy, Doug Crowe, Hilda Kurtz, Jennifer Rice, Paul Schroeder, Marshall Shepherd

Approval of the minutes of the August 22, 2023 meeting: The minutes were approved without corrections. 28 yes, 0 no

President Benjamin Britton's Remarks:

We still need a member to volunteer to be president elect, and as president the following academic year. Please make a list of interested members when your individual committees meet, and then share with the executive committee.

A reminder that additional agenda items can be added by a 2/3 majority vote of senators attending the meeting, and these should be sent to Christine Albright.

In discussion, visitors may be recognized after all senators have spoken who want to. Only senators may vote on agenda items. Senate meetings will always end at 5:00 PM at the latest, and our next meeting will be in person.

Dean Anna Stenport's Remarks:

Michael Hill has been appointed as Executive Director of the Franklin College IT; thanks to Ted Gragson for his service as chair of that committee.

Two Associate Dean searches are in progress, Associate Dean Tom Mote will be stepping down on October 31.

As presented at last month's Senate meeting, the Dean's Faculty Advisory Committee is in the process of being formed. Invitations to serve have been sent out via email. It is expected that the committee will hold its inaugural meeting in January of 2024.

Campus-wide programming around multidisciplinary Data Science and Artificial Intelligence is being planned for academic year 2023-24. The Institute for Artificial Intelligence along with the Provost's Office are leading the planning through a committee with several Franklin faculty represented.

The Franklin College has formed an exploratory curriculum committee around potential academic planning in Data Science + X (another discipline). This committee is chaired by Paula Lemons with representation from several departments.

The University's "40 under 40" event will be held Friday September 22. 13 of this year's award recipients were Franklin graduates.

The Parents Leadership Council has a call for several grants that will advance and benefit various initiatives. The application window is October 3 – November 17:

PLC Website: <u>https://give.uga.edu/parents-families/parents-leadership-council/</u> Grant application Website: <u>https://give.uga.edu/parents-families/plc-grant-application/</u> Past Recipients: <u>https://give.uga.edu/wp-content/uploads/2023-2024-PLC-Grant-</u> <u>Recipients.pdf</u>

There are several upcoming events for faculty:

Several Coffees with the Dean: 9/21, and upcoming dates in October and November College Tailgate 11/4 homecoming – instructions for tickets forthcoming

Dean Stenport shared information about upcoming performances by the Hugh Hodgson School of Music <u>https://music.uga.edu/events/all-ticketed-events</u>, and as well as a video installation presented at <u>The Athenaeum</u>, hosted by The Lamar Dodd School of Art.

Committee Reports

- <u>Executive</u>: The committee had nothing to report.
- <u>Academic Standards</u>: The committee had nothing to report.
- <u>Curriculum</u>: Arranged a committee meeting to plan the rest of the semester's work.
- <u>Faculty Affairs</u>: The committee had nothing to report.
- <u>Planning and Evaluation</u>: The committee had nothing to report.

New Business:

<u>Proposal to change the name of the Department of</u> Geography - Presented by Hilda Kurtz, Professor and Department Head of Geography –

Dr. Kurtz begins by explaining the process of changing the name of a department, highlighting the many steps in the process. She states that this proposal is in line with a growing number of

peer and aspirational departments in the US and abroad who are also changing their department's names for a variety of reasons. The UGA department requested the name "Department of Geography, Society, and Environment as this captures the full breadth of what UGA Geography faculty and students study and teach.

Voting: After discussion, the motion does not pass - 12 yes, 14 no, 8 abstentions

Presentation by Matthew Boedy, Conference President, Georgia AAUP, about the results of the "Faculty in the South" survey – results summary and slideshow

While there were many questions on this survey, the Georgia AAUP was interested in following up on a previous survey about the effects of censure from the AAUP on the USG due to its changes to tenure and the post tenure review process, in addition to learning what other issues faculty were concerned about. Dr. Boedy concluded by imploring faculty to advocate for themselves to lawmakers, to the USG, and to the Board of Regents through shared governance institutions like this one or other avenues to help remove the USG from the AAUP's censure list.

More information can be found at the Georgia AAUP's website: <u>https://www.aaupgeorgia.org</u>, and in this summary of the survey: <u>https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1SS1dtgm7-</u>tgXeyoyneWIuNjrq3FmNtsRSLTcY_IYt7c/edit#slide=id.p

The meeting was adjourned at 4:39 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Matthew Shipes Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for the Hugh Hodgson School of Music