# Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, 17 February, 2015

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 304 of Forestry Building 1, Shelby Funk presiding.

Members Present: Christine Albright, Budak Arpinar, Maor Bar-Peled, Mary Bedell, Josh Bynum, Renato Castelao, Trina Cyterski, Inge DiBella, Husseina Dinani, Fred Dolezal, Diana Downs, Christopher Eaket, Shelby Funk, Lisa Fusillo, Adam Goodie, Richard Gordon, Uwe Happek, Chad Howe, Jim Lauderdale, Derrick Lemons, Reid Messich, Nicholas Morrissey, Dan Nakano, Robert Phillips, Patricia Richards, Michael Roden, Chloe Wigston Smith, Inseok Song, T.N. Sriram, Jon Swindler, Karim Traore, Zachary Wood, and Sarah Wright.

**Proxies:** Abhyuday Mandal (proxy for Kim Gilbert), Bill Lanzilotta (Proxy for Natarajan Kannan), and Elgene Box (Proxy for Lan Mu).

**Visitors:** Linda Bachman, Jonathan Hardy, Tiffany Lindhardt, Bryan McLucas, and Beth Woods.

**Members not present:** Analisa Arroyo, Shanta Dhar, Kim Gilbert, Natarajan Kannan, Lan Mu, Virginia Nazarea, Daniel Rood, Mitch Rothstein, and Angela Yao.

Approval of the minutes of the 20 January 2015 meeting: Approved without corrections.

## **President Shelby Funk's Remarks**

• President Funk said that she did not have much to report other than that the Franklin College IT team was visiting to present the LANDesk system to the Senate and that someone from the Office fo Online Learning would be visiting soon.

### **Dean Dorsey's Remarks**

- Dean Dorsey reported that the process of asking departments to look into their documents regarding promotion and tenure is ongoing. Updated documents were due in the Dean's Office last Friday and will be reviewed. They plan to to submit all updated documents to the Provost's Office for further review.
- Dean Dorsey also reported that the process of considering the new Experiential Learning Requirement continues. If approved, this requirement will be university-wide and will be applied to students matriculating in August, 2016. There has been an Ad Hoc Committee in the Franklin College to consider this requirement, and Linda Bachman has chaired a campus-wide committee. The Senate's Curriculum Committee is currently also reviewing this requirement.

# **Committee Reports:**

- Academic Standards Committee: Received 2 petitions, approved 1, denied 1.
- Curriculum Committee: Approved 57 new courses, approved 121 course changes, and approved 3 proposals: microbiology major changes, ARHI 2121 approved for general

education core curriculum, and CHEM 1210/1210E approved for general education core curriculum. The committee is working on a draft proposal for the Experiential Learning equirement.

- Executive Committee: No new business reported.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: No new business reported.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: The committee has been working on collecting data about the status of Lecturers and will submit a report soon.

#### **New Business:**

 Beth Woods, Jonathan Hardy, Tiffany Lindhardt, and Bryan McLucas of the Franklin College Office of Information Technology offered a presentation about the new LANDesk system. Many senators had questions about how the new system will affect faculty members' ability to download important software and how it will affect data collection from linked computer systems. The visitors answered senators' questions and invited faculty members to contact them with any further questions about the new system.

### **Old Business:**

No Old Business was discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:26 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Christine Albright Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Classics