Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, October 20, 2015

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 348 of the Miller Learning Center, Dan Nakano presiding.

Members Present: John Achee, Christine Albright, Analisa Arroyo, Maor Bar-Peled, Mary Bedell, Renato Castelao, Tom Cerbu, Inge DiBella, Ray Freeman-Lynde, Kim Gilbert, Adam Goodie, Richard Gordon, Jaclyn Hartenberger, Chad Howe, Maria Hybinette, Takahiro Ito, Kevin Jones, Jain Kwon, Derrick Lemons, Tricia Lootens, Reid Messich, Lan Mu, Dan Nakano, Rielle Navitski, Don Nelson, Lakshmish Ramaswamy, Jeremy Reynolds, Jennifer Rice, Mitch Rothstein, Inseok Song, T.N. Sriram, Phillip Stancil, Rick Tarleton, Lianchun Wang, Sarah Wright

Proxies: Robert Phillips (proxy for Richard Hubbard,); Thiab Taha (proxy for Lakshmish Ramaswamy); Steven Soper (proxy Husseina Dinani); Ted Saupe (proxy for Nicholas Morrissey)

Guests: Dr. Diane Miller, Director of Student Academic Services, to present proposed policy change

Members not present: Shanta Dhar, Fred Dolezal, Diana Downs, Lisa Fusillo

Approval of the minutes of the September 24 meeting: Approved without corrections.

President Dan Nakano's Remarks

- Next semester we will meet on South Campus, dates, times and locations to be announced later.
- The Dean's office has asked us to look into voting rights of non-tenure track faculty members, such as lecturers, academic professionals and instructors. The Faculty Affairs Committee (Mitch Rothstein, Chair) is working on this issue, with help from Dean Ruppersburg. Dr. Rothstein added that there is disparity among departments on voting rights for various categories of faculty, with two particular foci: A) a plan for what's fair, and B) what's appropriate to mandate at the College level as opposed to leaving to department-level decisions.

Dean Dorsey's Remarks

• The Franklin International Faculty Exchange Program (FIFE) was created by Dean Fallows in 2011, funded by Dean's office, in collaboration with international institutions. To participate, UGA faculty member must identify a counterpart at a collaborating institution. The visitor comes to UGA for about a week, meets with interested faculty, gives at least one public lecture, and discusses their research agenda by team-teaching a lab meeting with the host faculty member. Reciprocal events are expected at the partner institution. This year's deadline was October 9. If it's of interest to Senators or

- department colleagues, keep it in mind for next year, including working on identifying collaborators, which can be a step that plays out best over time.
- On the Experiential Learning initiative, UCC has approved FCAS's implementation plan, identifying some courses that did not meet criteria. Dr. Fallows has been in touch with affected department Heads. There will be an ongoing process for revisions and new courses. A final vote is expected at University Council, and then we're off and running.
- Ouestions were invited and discussed.

Committee Reports:

- Executive Committee: No new business reported.
- Curriculum Committee: Approved 14 new courses, approved 6 course changes, and 4 multicultural courses, plus items to be discussed under New Business.
- Academic Standards Committee: Received 1 appeal, which was approved.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: No new business reported, other than the upcoming departmental voting rights issue.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: No new business reported.

New Business:

- Applied Data Science Interdisciplinary Undergraduate Certificate. Approval was moved, and approved unanimously.
- Cybersecurity Interdisciplinary Graduate Certificate. Details of the certificate program were discussed. Approval was moved, and approved unanimously.
- Proposed Changes to the Franklin College Policy for Foreign Language Substitution Courses for Students with Learning Disabilities Diane Miller. Questions were discussed. Approval was moved, and approved unanimously.

Meeting was adjourned at 4:01 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Adam Goodie Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Psychology