Franklin College Faculty Senate

Minutes of the meeting on Sept. 19, 2017

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. in room 250 of the Miller Learning Center, Mary Bedell presiding.

Members Present: John Achee, Maor Bar-Peled, Mary Bedell, Brian Binder, Tom Cerbu, Katie Chapman, Elizabeth Davis, Lisa Fusillo, Chad Howe, Maria Hybinette, Takahiro Ito, Kevin Jones, Betina Kaplan, Kristin Kundert, Jain Kwon, Ming-Jun Lai, Gary Lautenschlager, Megan Lutz, Reid Messich, Silvia Moreno, Dan Nakano, Rielle Navitski, Chris Pizzino, Lakshmish Ramaswamy, Jennifer Rice, Mike Roden, Leslie Gordon Simons, Jiyeon So, Steve Soper, Nanette Spina, Phillip Stancil, Lianchun Wang, Qun Zhao.

Proxies: Jonathan Eggenschwiler (proxy for Brian Condie), Vincent Starai (proxy for Jorge Escalante), Marni Schindelman (proxy for vacant Lamar Dodd School of Art's Faculty Senate position).

Members not present: Thomas Biggs, Josh Bynum, Suzanne Ellenberger, Richard Hubbard, Don Nelson, Piers Stephens.

Guest: April Brown, Dean's Office.

Approval of the minutes of the April 18, 2017 meeting: Approved without corrections.

President Mary Bedell's Remarks

President Bedell expressed her appreciation for the Faculty Senate's patience as she continues to learn the body's detailed rules and procedures.

She also welcomed and thanked new Faculty Senators and new prospective members of Faculty Senate committee positions.

Dean Alan Dorsey's Remarks

Dean Dorsey drew attention to the latest *U.S. News and World Report* rankings of American colleges and universities, which ranks the University of Georgia 16th among national public universities, up from a ranking of 18th a year ago and the second increase in ranking over the past few years. Dean Dorsey called this jump in ranking a deserved recognition of the accomplishments of the University of Georgia's students and faculty.

Dean Dorsey then spoke about the presidential hiring initiative, which has been publicized in *Columns* and on the UGA website. The purpose of the initiative is to provide additional staffing for departments which have seen an increase in enrollments over the past few years. (Among the departments and programs experiencing such growth are Statistics, Biological Science, and Biochemistry, Engineering, and Business.) A total of 25 new positions will be created: 10 will be tenure-track positions, 10 will be for lecturers, and 5 will be for academic advisors. Information on this initiative went out to department heads on Sept. 6, and eligible departments have been asked for detailed hiring proposals. The results of these proposals should be announced in about two weeks' time.

Next, Dean Dorsey reminded the assembled Senators of the upcoming deadline at the College of Arts & Sciences level for Faculty Research Award nominations (including the Distinguished Research Professor, the Creative Research Medal and the Creative Research Awards), and of the significant changes regarding eligibility for these awards, effective a year from now. Nominations for this year's awards must be submitted to the Dean's office by Oct. 4, to allow time to review the nominations and submit them to the Office of Research by Nov. 1. A year from now, new eligibility requirements will limit the Creative Research Medal and Creative Research Awards to mid-career scholars who are either associate professors or full professors who have been promoted within the past 3 years. But for this year's awards, the previous rules apply, which allow nominations of associate or full professors, regardless of how recently the full professors were promoted.

Dean Dorsey also reminded all Faculty Senators of the call by the Office of the President and the Office of Institutional Diversity for proposals for *New Approaches to Promote Diversity and Inclusion* grants. The College of Arts & Sciences deadline for these proposals is Oct 2. Anyone with questions about this initiative should contact Associate Dean Kecia Thomas.

Dean Dorsey then welcomed questions but received none.

Committee Reports

Academic Standards Committee. No pending petitions.

Curriculum Committee. Approved 7 new courses, approved 10 course changes,

approved 4 Bulletin changes, approved 1 minor proposal (in Design & Media).

Executive Committee. Nothing to report.

Committee on Faculty Affairs. Working on the mechanism for conducting the 5-year review of Dean Dorsey.

Committee on Planning & Evaluation. Nothing to report.

New Business

Senate Committee Seat Elections for 2017-18

Both of the following new committee members were approved by unanimous vote.

Faculty Affairs – Mike Roden (Geology) Planning & Evaluation Committee – Kristin Kundert (Theater & Film)

Proposal for Minor Program of Study in Design and Media. Marni Schindelman answered questions regarding this proposal, which was approved by the Faculty Senate's Curriculum Committee prior to this Faculty Senate meeting. Asked how the Lamar School of Art was interacting with the Grady School of Journalism on this area of common interest (i.e., design and media), she noted the Lamar School of Art's attention to the production of printbased media. She also clarified how and why prospective minors might choose from among courses at apparently different levels (from 2000 to 4000). A member of the Faculty Senate pointed out a typographical error in the new minor program proposal form. One Senator commented that a more detailed description of the new minor program, and a report from the Curriculum Committee on their reasons for approving the program, would have been helpful. The motion was approved by 35 Senators with 1 abstention.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Steven Soper Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for History