## Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, (April 18, 2023)

The meeting was called to order at 3:35 PM via Zoom, Peter Hoffer presiding.

Members Present: Christine Albright, Toyin Alli, Mark Anderson, Adam Barb, Kelly Black, Benjamin Britton, Clifton Buck, Liming Cai, Joel Caughran, Pilar Chamorro Fernandez, Carmen Comeaux, Maduranga Dassanayake, Rebecca Gose, Le Guan, Dan Hall, DeLoris Hesse, Peter Hoffer, Steve Holland, Christin Huggins, Joe Kellner, Emily Koh, Kendall Marchman, Emily Mouilso, Vasant Muralidharan, Richard Neupert, Chris Peterson, Laurie Reitsema, Amy Ross, Bernd Schuttler, Alexandra Shapiro, Matthew Shipes, Anne Summers, Cynthia Suveg, Andrea Sweigart, Justine Tinkler, Alberto Villate-Isaza, Frans Weiser, Michael White, Sarah Wright, Hang Yin

Proxies: None

Members not present: Vince Du, Imi Hwangbo, Ro Martini Paula

**Guests:** Jean Martin-Williams, Marshall Shepherd, Hilda Kurtz, Rodney Mauricio, Anna Stenport

**Approval of the minutes of the February 21, 2023 meeting**: The minutes were approved without corrections.

**President Peter Hoffer's Remarks:** President Hoffer welcomed everyone to the meeting and reported that Senator Alberto Villate-Isaza would serve as President Elect to run the meeting in the case of technical difficulties. President Hoffer reported that generally no one had come forward to serve as President Elect and that he would be happy to discuss the office with anyone with interest in the position. President Hoffer thanked Dean Alan Dorsey for his service to the College.

**Dean Dorsey's Remarks:** Dean Dorsey reported that commencement for graduate students has been rescheduled for 9:30 am on May 11<sup>th</sup> in Sanford Stadium due to repair work at Stegeman Coliseum. The ceremony will include both masters and doctoral students. Dr. Charles Bullock from Political Science will speak at the ceremony. The undergraduate ceremony will take place at 7:30 pm on May 12<sup>th</sup> at Sanford Stadium. Dr. Leah Brown, M.D. will speak at that ceremony. There will be a dinner for faculty who walk in the ceremony at 5:30 pm before the graduation. Faculty should register via the commencement website (<a href="www.commencement.uga/faculty">www.commencement.uga/faculty</a>) for the dinner before April 25<sup>th</sup>.

Dean Dorsey reported that there is a \$2000 cost of living adjustment for all state employees in the state budget. Although the budget has not been signed by the Governor yet, he believes the adjustment will be approved. In addition, 29.8 million dollars has been designated for the Science/Ag Hill Modernization Project. The budget includes reduced funding for the USG, which will require that UGA use 11.9 million dollars of its reserves. Exactly how this money will be distributed to individual schools and colleges has not been determined. Dean Dorsey reported that there is currently no information about merit-based raises.

Dean Dorsey reported that Victor Wilson, Vice President for Student Affairs, has announced his plans to retire, effective September 30, 2023. Dr. Michelle Cook will be his successor, effective

October 1, 2023. Kevin Abernethy has been named the Vice President for Government Relations; his appointment took effect on January 1, 2023. Dr. Jeanette Taylor has started as Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, effective April 1, 2023. Dr. Taylor will join the faculty in the Department of Psychology. Dr. Anna Stenport has been appointed to the faculty of Franklin College and will begin her service as Dean on June 1, 2023.

Dean Dorsey thanked the senators for their service and said that it has been an honor to serve as Dean of Franklin College.

## **Committee Reports:**

Executive Committee: The committee had nothing to report.

Academic Standards: The committee had 5 appeals. 3 were approved, and 2 were denied.

<u>Curriculum Committee</u>: The committee approved 1 Academic Unit Name Change Proposal for Geography; 2 Double Dawgs Proposals for BCMB and Genetics; 2 Multicultural Course Proposals for History; 4 Experiential Learning Proposals for various departments; and 5 Bulletin Change Proposals for various departments.

<u>Faculty Affairs</u>: The committee had nothing to report.

<u>Planning and Evaluation</u>: The committee had nothing to report.

## **New Business:**

<u>Proposal to change the name of the Department of Geography</u>: Marshall Shepherd and Hilda Kurtz from the Department of Geography presented the proposed name change from the Department of Geography to the Department of Geography, Society, and Environment, offering a Power Point presentation and explaining the motivations for the change. They answered many questions from senators. After much discussion, it was decided that the proposal would be postponed until the August meeting of the Senate.

<u>Elections:</u> The following slate of Senate Committee Chairpersons for AY 2023-24 was approved:

– Peter Hoffer, Senate President; Executive Committee: Christine Albright; Curriculum Committee: Joel Caughran; Academic Standards: Vasant Muralidharan; Faculty Affairs: Amy Ross; Senate Secretary: Matthew Shipes. The position of Chairperson for Planning and Evaluation remains open.

<u>Proposed Revisions to the General Education Curriculum</u>: Rodney Mauricio, Professor of Genetics and University Council Curriculum Committee member, reported on work to revise the General Education Curriculum and indicated that a major goal of the revision is to make the Curriculum more transparent to students. He reported that there would be no changes to the net number of courses. He said that he would like feedback from the Senate and that there is ongoing discussion about revision.

**Old Business:** None

The meeting was adjourned at 4:58 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine L. Albright Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Classics