Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the Meeting of Thursday, April 17, 2008

The meeting was called to order at 3:35pm in SLC 348, William Barstow presiding. No proxies were identified. No visitors were present. Newly elected members of the Senate were introduced.

Members/Proxies Present:

Yuri Balashov (Philosophy), William Barstow (Plant Biology), Rene Bobé (Anthropology), Adrian Burd (Marine Sciences), Keith Campbell (Psychology), Steve Dalton (Biochemistry), Charles Doyle (English), Mario Erasmo (Classics), Lisa Fusillo (Dance), Michael Hahn (Plant Biology), Shane Hamilton (History), Joe Hermanowicz (Sociology), Kenneth Honerkamp (Religion), Betina Kaplan (Romance Lang.), Michael Kernis (Psychology), Edward Kipreos (Cellular Biology), Asen Kirin (Art), Kristin Kundert-Gibbs (Theatre & Film), Roy Legette (Music), David Lowenthal (Computer Science), Gordana Matic (Mathematics), Bill McCormick (Statistics), Ron Miller (English), Masaki Mori (Comp. Lit.), Kanzo Nakayama (Physics), Vladimir Popik (Chemistry), Dawn Robinson (Sociology), Brigitte Rossbacher (Germanic and Slavic Lang.), Paul Schliekelman (Statistics), Lijiang Shen (Speech), Jake Short (History), Eric Stabb (Microbiology), Michael Tiemeyer (Biochemistry), Shuzhou Wang (Mathematics).

Members Not Present: J. P. Caillault (Physics), Stacey Casado (Romance Lang.), Jim DeHaseth (Chemistry), Thomas Houser (Art), Roy Kennedy (Music), Hilda Kurtz (Geography), Alberto Patino-Douce (Geology), Marshall Shepherd (Geography), John Wares (Genetics).

Approval of the Minutes

Dr. Robinson motioned to approve the minutes of the March 18 meeting, seconded by Dr. Erasmo. Unanimously approved.

Presiding Officer Bill Barstow's Remarks

Bill Barstow reported on University Council's discussion of the proposed Spanish minor elimination. Dr. Kaplan noted that the Department of Romance Languages decided to table the request to eliminate the Spanish minor. Dr. Barstow discussed the University Council Executive Committee's report on a committee appointed by the Board of Regents to revise the University System of Georgia's core curriculum. Two preliminary models for a new core curriculum were created without feedback from students or faculty at UGA. The University Council Executive Committee protested, declaring that the action bypassed UGA faculty governance, further noting that UGA has already been in the process of creating its own core curriculum. Associate Dean Ruppersburg stated that UGA has been given permission to form its own core curriculum, and is exempted from the Board of Regents' effort. General discussion ensued.

Dr. Barstow explained that the Franklin Faculty Senate bylaws revision committee has met for the first time, will continue to meet through the fall, and

plans to have prepared a recommendation by December for the Senate's consideration. The committee consists of Drs. Rossbacher, Legette, Burd, Robinson, Barstow, and Associate Dean Ruppersburg.

Associate Dean Ruppersburg's Remarks

Dr. Ruppersburg took questions. Dr. Campbell asked if the Dean's office had received any news on legislation affecting the ORP retirement system; Dr. Ruppersburg said he had heard no news.

Committee Reports

Academic Standards: see attached report.

Admissions: nothing to report.

Committee on Committees: assembled slate of nominees for the Franklin College Awards Committee and a slate of nominees officers and chairs of committees for the 2008-2009 Faculty Senate.

Curriculum Committee: see attached annual report.

Planning: nothing to report.

Professional Concerns: nothing to report.

Steering: Dr. Kernis reported that the committee set the agenda for the current meeting.

New Business

1. 2008-09 Elections

The Committee on Committees prepared a slate of nominees for officers of the Senate for the 2008-09 year.

Joe Hermanowicz was nominated for Senate Presiding Officer for the 2008-2009 term, and Shane Hamilton was nominated for Presiding Officer Pro Tempore by the Committee on Committees. Dr. Robinson moved to approve the committee recommendation, Dr. Stabb seconded. The officers were elected unanimously on a voice vote.

Nominees for the Committee on Committees were: Dawn Robinson (Chair), Eric Stabb, Mark Wheeler, Charles Doyle, and Vladimir Popik. Dr. Robinson moved to approve the nominations, Dr. Fusillo seconded. The committee was elected unanimously on a voice vote.

Mike Tiemeyer was nominated to chair the Academic Standards Committee. Dr. Robinson moved to approve the nomination, Dr. Erasmo seconded. Dr. Tiemeyer was elected unanimously on a voice vote.

Jake Short was nominated to chair the Planning Committee. Dr. Robinson moved to approve the nomination, Dr. Stabb seconded. Dr. Short was elected unanimously on a voice vote.

Paul Schliekelman was nominated to chair the Professional Concerns Committee. Dr. Erasmo moved to approve the nomination, Dr. Stabb seconded. Dr. Schliekelman was elected unanimously on a voice vote.

Kristen Kundert-Gibbs was nominated to chair the Admissions Committee. Dr. Stabb moved to approve the nomination, Dr. Matic seconded. Dr. Kundert-Gibbs was elected unanimously on a voice vote.

There were no nominees for the chair of the Steering Committee or the chair of the Curriculum Committee. Nominations will remain open for the next meeting of the Senate.

2. Vote on Awards Committee

Dr. Burd presented the Committee on Committee's slate of nominees for the Franklin College Awards Committee. James E. Coverdill (representing the Division of Social Sciences), Charles Atwood (representing Physical and Mathematical Sciences), and Richard Neupert (representing Fine Arts) were all running unopposed. Dr. Barstow moved to approve these nominees, Dr. Robinson seconded, and on a unanimous voice vote Coverdill, Atwood, and Neupert were approved to sit on the Awards Committee.

Two nominees for the Biological Sciences, Ming-Yi Sun and Ellen Neidle, were presented. After discussion, a paper ballot was held. Dr. Sun received 1 vote, and Dr. Neidle received 30 votes. Dr. Neidle will represent the Biological Sciences on the Awards Committee.

Two nominees for the Humanities were presented, John Inscoe and Sandy Martin. A paper ballot was held. Dr. Inscoe received 12 votes, Dr. Martin received 11 votes. There were 8 abstentions. Dr. Inscoe will represent the Humanities on the Awards Committee.

3. Termination of MA in Greek (link)

Dr. Popik presented the Curriculum Committee's recommendation to approve the Classics Department's request to terminate the MA in Greek. There was no discussion. On a voice vote, the committee's recommendation was approved unanimously.

4. Termination of MA in Latin (link)

Dr. Popik presented the Curriculum Committee's recommendation to approve the Classics Department's request to terminate the MA in Latin. Dr. Hahn asked whether students currently enrolled would still be able to attain their degrees; Dr. Popik noted that there were two MA students in Latin who would be able to complete the degree. On a voice vote, the committee's recommendation was approved unanimously.

Please visit this <u>web link</u> to view the list of Faculty Senate members (including newly elected senators)

Call for Agenda Items for August 2008 meeting (exact date and time to be announced). Submit agenda items to Debbie Goswick (dgoswick@uga.edu).

Agendas and supporting materials are posted on the Faculty Senate website at http://www.franklin.uga.edu/fac_staff/govern/index.htm

Online copies of the Bylaws, Policy and Procedure manual, and minutes of previous meetings are also posted on that site.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15pm.

Respectfully submitted, Shane Hamilton, Secretary