Franklin College Faculty Senate

Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, August 20, 2013

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 101 of the Miller Learning Center, Dana Bultman presiding.

Members Present: Ibigbolade Aderibigbe, Christine Albright, Budak Arpinar, Mary Bedell, Dana Bultman, Brandon Craswell, Trina Cyterski, Shanta Dhar, Inge DiBella, Husseina Dinani, Fred Dolezal, Diana Downs, Christine Franklin, Shelby Funk, Kim Gilbert, Kelly Happe, Uwe Happek, Charles Hopkinson, Chad Howe, Miriam Jacobson, Natarajan Kannan, Jim Lauderdale, Reid Messich, Lan Mu, Dan Nakano, Virginia Nazarea, Robert Phillips, Mike Roden, Dan Rood, Mitch Rothstein, David Smilde, Richard Suplita, Saral Surakul, Jon Swindler, Karim Traore, Sarah Wright, and Angela Yao.

Proxies: David Smilde will proxy for Patricia Richards this semester; John Rose (proxy for Zachary Wood)

Members not present: Maor Bar-Peled, Christopher Eaket, Rebecca Enghauser, Inseok Song

Visitors: Mary Leglar, Naomi Norman, and Kay Stanton.

Approval of the minutes of the 26 April 2013 meeting: Approved without corrections.

President Dana Bultman's Remarks

• As this is the first meeting of the new academic year and there are several new senators, President Bultman encouraged all senators to visit the Franklin Senate website (<u>http://www.franklin.uga.edu/faculty_staff/senate/</u>). She reviewed the charge of the Senate, the role of the Senate, the composition of the Senate, and the responsibilities of the Senate.

Dean Dorsey's Remarks

- Dean Dorsey extended a welcome back, a thank you to all senators for service to the Senate, and a thank you to the leadership (Dana Bultman, Christine Franklin, and Shelby Funk).
- He noted this has been a year of change. Jere Morehead is our new President and Dean Dorsey enthusiastically supports President Morehead who is committed to a 'flatter' administration and personally being more inclusive. A few other new faces in administration are Libby Morris as Interim Provost, Ryan Nesbit as the Interim Vice President for Finance and Administration, Victor Wilson as the Vice President for Student Affairs, and several new Deans. Within Arts and Sciences, Hugh Ruppersburg is serving as the interim Vice Provost and Kecia Thomas as the interim associate Dean. Dean Dorsey indicated he is rebuilding the fund raising staff. He concluded the year of change by praising the incoming 5150 first year students as the most academically qualified with an average high school GPA of 3.86 and average SAT of 1280 out of 1600.
- He indicated that the college for academic year 2012-13 successfully completed 29 tenure track and 7 non-tenure track faculty searches. The number of tenure track positions is currently 635 up from 610 in 2010. For 2013-14, he is predicting around 18-23 tenure track faculty searches. The Dean is waiting to hear about whether there will be another President's initiative before authorizing any searches. He understands the concern about starting searches as soon as possible so intends to let departments know sooner than later.

- Budget: For FY14, there is a .6% reduction (a hold-over from the FY13 budget). The good news is there will be no further reduction. There will be an increase in the budget to cover faculty raises from promotions and to cover increasing the base line of graduate student stipends. Overall, FY14 will be a flat line and stable budget. Regarding graduate student stipends, given that these stipends have not been competitive, the Dean's office is providing an increase of \$1000 for a 4/9 time stipend. A consequence of this increase will be fewer faculty searches in 2013-14. He is cautiously optimistic there may be a raise for faculty and staff this year given this is a top priority of the President, the economy is slowly improving, and 2014 is an election year.
- During Q & A, Dean Dorsey was asked about the IT resolution regarding administrative access privileges that the Franklin Senate passed at the April 26, 2013 meeting (see April 2013 minutes for a copy of the resolution). Dean Dorsey indicated he is taking the IT policy and resolution under advisement and a committee led by Christine Miller will revisit the IT policy.

Committee Reports:

- Academic Standards Committee: Received 26 petitions, approved 17, denied 8, and 1 pending.
- Curriculum Committee: Approved 47 new courses, approved 28 course changes, and approved 4 proposals.
- Executive Committee: No new business reported.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: No new business reported.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: No new business reported.

New Business:

- Approval of 2013-14 Faculty Senate Committees. The committees were approved unanimously. The vote was 38 approve.
- Proposal for Classical Languages Online Post-baccalaureate Certificate (approved by Franklin Curriculum Committee). The proposal was approved unanimously. The vote was 38 approve.
- Proposal for Masters of Music Education Online External Degree (approved by Franklin Curriculum Committee). The proposal was approved unanimously. The vote was 38 approve.

Meeting was adjourned at 4:05 PM. A welcome reception followed the adjournment of the meeting.

Respectfully submitted, Christine Franklin Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Statistics