Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, Summer 2023

Alan Flurry

Book awards, new grants, fellowships, and excellence in musical performance headline the outstanding accolades of Franklin College faculty and students over the summer. A sample of the good news from over the summer break – congratulations all:

Anna Westerstahl Stenport became the 17th dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences on June 1

UGA appointed Gagan Agrawal, professor and associate dean for research and graduate studies in the School of Computer and Cyber Sciences at Augusta University, as the director of the UGA School of Computing

The University of Georgia Hodgson Singers took second place at the prestigious 18th Marktoberdorf International Chamber Choir Competition in Marktoberdorf, Germany, May 26-30. Twelve choirs from around the world faced four days of competitive rounds, master classes, concerts and cultural exchange, and the Hodgson Singers were awarded the highest level of achievement—Excellence at an International Level 

For the third year in a row, the Boren Awards named the University of Georgia a top-performing institution for Boren Scholarships. With five UGA undergraduates selected as Boren Scholars this spring, UGA is ranked in the top five of institutions nationwide. The UGA Boren Scholars for 2023 will study three different languages—Arabic, Swahili and Russian—in three distinct regions of the world

University of Georgia student Shania Green has been awarded the Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

The Franklin College named Montgomery Wolf as the new director of the Franklin Residential College (FRC), UGA's oldest living learning community. Wolf, Principal Lecturer of American History in the UGA department of history, succeeds Benjamin Ehlers as director of the FRC

Four University of Georgia students have been selected as the 2023 cohort of Cora Nunnally Miller Fine Arts Scholars in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

The UGA department of history announced the creation of the Sheffield Hale Fellowship, an annual award to underwrite a paid internship at Atlanta History Center, open to both undergraduate and graduate students interested in pursuing a career in public history and historical museums

The Poetry Foundation announced that UGA doctoral student Abhijit Sarmah is among 12 finalists for the 2023 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships. The five Fellowship recipients, who will be announced in late August, will each receive $27,000 and an invitation to publish in Poetry magazine

Five UUGA early-career faculty – three from Franklin College units – have been recognized in 2023 by the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER), which rewards faculty who have the potential to serve as leaders in the advancement of research and education

UGA pre-med student Gabriela Castillo was featured on the cover of the August issue of G.I. Jobs magazine for receiving the publication’s 2023 Student Veteran Leadership Award

Creative Writing Program doctoral student Holly Haworth is among the winners of the prestigious 2023 Robert B. Silvers Foundation grant for her book-in-progress


Image: The Hodgson Singers. Photo by Presley Grace


Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.