Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Divisional Spotlight: Humanities

Alan Flurry

Much like the Earth has five oceans, teeming with life and mysteries in its great depths and powering the Earth's natural systems and cycles – it is the Blue Planet after all – the Franklin College has five divisions powering UGA's unprecedented march to excellence. We continue to welcome 2024 by highlighting this element of our organizational structure and the academic units contained in each division.

Today, we highlight the HUMANITIES:

Forming the bedrock of human culture from modern languages and literature to philosophy and religion, the Division of the Humanities comprises eight departments, and a host of concentrations and majors with more than 2,000 students from around the world enrolled in our AB, MA and PhD programs.


Classics | Comparative Literature and Intercultural Studies | English | Germanic & Slavic Studies | History | Linguistics | Philosophy | Religion | Romance Languages

Image: Philosophy professor Chris Cuomo conducting a class lecture outdoors on te North campus Quad. Photo by Cassandra Wright.

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.