Ramsey Concert Hall

Michael Heald and Kenn Wagner, Violins
Maggie Snyder, Viola
David Starkweather, Cello
D. Ray McClellan, Clarinet
Milton Masciadri, Double Bass

Kenn Wagner has been a first violinist with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra since 1994, and has also served as acting assistant concertmaster of the ASO for one season. Outside of the ASO he has also appeared abroad as guest soloist with the Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra in China, and Christ Church Symphony string section, in New Zealand. Nationally he has soloed with the New Orleans Symphony, Arlington symphony, and the Wintergreen Music Festival Orchestra. Locally, Kenn has also appeared as soloist with the Atlanta Community Symphony Orchestra, the Dekalb Symphony,  Clark/Spellman Symphony,  Atlanta Philharmonic, and the Atlanta Musicians' Orchestra. In addition to his solo work and position with the ASO, Mr. Wagner enjoys playing chamber music and performs with groups such as the Riverside Chamber Players, Leaptrott Trio(Trio in residence at Brenau University), Atlanta Chamber Players, Awadagin Pratt’s Next Generation Festival, and National Chamber Players with special guest Kenneth Slowik of the Smithsonian Chamber Players. Last season he also made his debut at Piccolo Spoleto with the Orlando Chamber Soloists and performed with members of the Grammy Award winning Cuerteto Latino Americano. Mr Wagner has also performed chamber music with former Indiana University faculty member Csaba Erdelyi, as well as Alan Morrison, keyboard faculty member at the Curtis institute.

Kenn is a graduate of Indiana University where he trained with Joseph Gingold, former Concertmaster of the Cleveland Orchestra. Before completing his undergraduate degree at Indiana University, Mr. Wagner won a position with the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, with coaching from Vernon Summers of the National Symphony and former Concertmaster of both Atlanta and National Symphonies, William Steck. Kenn is very pleased and honored to be on the faculties at both Kennesaw State University and Morehouse College.

Performance is as follows:

String Quartet in D Minor, op.42: Franz Joseph Haydn  (1732-1809)

I.: Andante ed Innocentemente
II.: Menuetti e Trio
III.: Adagio e cantabile
IV.: Finale: Presto 

Rhapsodic Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet, op.31: Herbert Howells  (1892-1983)

Short Intermission  

String Quintet in G Major, op.77: Antonin Dvorak  (1841-1904)
I.: Allegro con fuoco
II.: Scherzo e Trio
III.: Poco Andante
IV.: Finale: Allegro assai