Chemistry Building, Room 400

The UGA Chemistry Department's annual Alumni Lecture will be presented by Prof. Mildred Dresselhaus from MIT on the topic of "Nanoscience in Our Future." Dresselhaus has received many national and international awards. She was awarded the National Medal of Science in 1990 in recognition of her work on electronic properties of materials as well as expanding the opportunities of women in science and engineering.  She received the 2012 Kavli Prize "for her pioneering contributions to the study of phonons, electron-phonon interactions, and thermal transport in nanostructures."  In 2010, she won the American Chemical Society Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, and in 2014, she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.  Dresselhaus is widely known for her work on graphite, graphite intercalation compounds, fullerenes, carbon nanotubes, and low-dimensional thermoelectrics.