Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 10:20am

April is the month when many awards are announced and this April is no different at the Franklin College. Our students and faculty distinguished themselves and our entire community with major accomplishments, including:

Sarah Mirza, an Honors student majoring in Spanish and geography, has received a 2014 Harry S. Truman Scholarship, which recognizes juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in government and elsewhere in public service

Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry Gregory H. Robinson was named the University of Georgia's 2014 recipient of the Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award

Tianming Liu, an associate professor of computer science, and Michael Usher, an associate professor of mathematics, were two of five UGA ­faculty members were presented Creative Research Medals on April 10

Franklin College students Tuan Nguyen, a junior from Douglasville majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology as well as mathematics, and Amy Webster, a junior from Kennesaw majoring in genetics and mathematics were named 2014 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars

Anthropology professor Elizabeth Reitz was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Athletic Association Professor in the Social Sciences J. Marshall Shepherd presented the keynote address at the 2014 EarthDay Leadership Breakfast at the Georgia Aquarium on April 16

Laura Lake Smith, PhD Candidate in art history and Victoria Eudy, PhD student in art education, both from the Lamar Dodd School of Art, are 2014 recipients of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award from the UGA Graduate School